Chicken and Broccoli

I am always willing to try and make foods for dinner—the only problem is I am the only one who will most likely eat it. I currently live in the house with the world’s most pickiest eaters, so usually I make my own food and fend for myself.

One night last week, I decided to make chicken and broccoli because a recipe on Pinterest (click here to see) grabbed my attention. I had broccoli in the kitchen and I had to use it before it went bad. I have a bad habit of buying things and not using them, but that is changing slowly.

So here’s what you are going to need:

  • 8oz Chicken Breast
  • 12oz Broccoli
  • 2 cups Brown Rice
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 Lemon
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • Pepper
  • Cilantro
  • Garlic Powder

1. Chicken

  • Put oil in a large pan or skillet and put it on medium high heat (if at anytime the oil starts to splatter, pour a little bit of water in the pan, it will not hurt you or the taste!)
  • Squeeze in lemon juice, spices, and the cheese. Mix them together.
  • Add thawed chicken and stir until the mixture lightly coats each piece of chicken.
  • Make sure to keep stirring every so often so the chicken cooks thoroughly.

So, while the chicken cooks, the broccoli needs to boil!

2. Broccoli

  • Get a pot and fill it up with water. Bring to simmer.
  • Toss in rinsed broccoli and stir every so often.
  • Cook until tender or to your liking.
  • Once the broccoli is done cooking, pour everything into a strainer.

3. Chicken and Broccoli

  • Add the broccoli in with the chicken and stir around for a few more minutes.

4. Brown Rice

This is completely optional, but make 2 servings of your favorite brown rice and add some cilantro. Rice makes a perfect side for this dish.

And you are done! If you are serving two servings, it is about 406 calories. If three, then it is about 273 calories.

I hope you enjoy the food as well as the blog post!

Leave a comment